annemariesblog

Author Anne Marie Lutz

Rest in Peace, Leonard Nimoy

I’ll miss Leonard Nimoy, even though I never met him.

I loved the original Star Trek. In addition to the space-opera fun, I respected the attention to reason and diversity shown in the series — aspects that were personified by Spock more than any other character.

People who weren’t in the know thought of him as only pointy-eared and logical, sometimes funny in his attention to too much detail. Many others saw the character’s compassion and his struggle to live with his dual, conflicting heritage.

I lost track of Mr Nimoy’s career in later years. I knew he was respected and admired by many others. I read, “I Am Not Spock” years ago, then read other things that made me think Mr Nimoy had come to terms with the character he brought to life for so many. And I was delighted to see him appear in the newer movies.

The news reported that Mr Nimoy was in poor health. But I was unprepared for the darkness the news of his death brought to my day.

So I never met Mr Nimoy. And yet he made a difference in my life and in the lives of many others, through his inspired and nuanced interpretation of a special character. A character that in other hands, would have been much less.

Godspeed, Mr Nimoy.

“I am not Spock. But given the choice, if I had to be someone else, I would be Spock. If someone said, ‘You can have the choice of being any other TV character ever played,’ I would choose Spock. I like him. I admire him. I respect him.” — Leonard Nimoy (quote via eonline.com)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

